The Moon

Phantasm

I used to dream of it. In the dream, I was standing… Someplace high up… a tower, or a mountain.
It was always just before dawn. The whole world was in darkness.
Then came the flash of light-just on the horizon, within the clouds that mark the border between worlds.
It could have been lightning,but there was no thunder. In the dream, the sense of foreboding grew, but i could never wake up.
Then it came again this time more distinct. Closer. Definitely not lightning now. It was Orange-brilliant orange, the colour of hearth and dawn.
And a sound too.Distinct and indistinct too, Not thunder… Something I shouldnt recognize, but in the dream I cannot place it.
I want to leave my high place, to seek shelter. From what, I don’t yet know.
In the manner of dreams, I cannot escape. I’m forced to wait and watch
but now its too late to escape. Enormous shadow upon me, darkness descending like a thunderbolt.
And then i would wake up. And hope that it was just a dream… But know that it was not.

-mehwish

6 thoughts on “Phantasm

  1. Nice. We mostly forget what we dreamed when we wake up. Only unclear fragments of images remain. Which we cant describe. Yet u explain your dream so clearly, it felt like iwaas there , up high.
    One thing is clear now, u r afraid of heights.:)
    A real thriller. Keep writing i luv ur work.

Leave a comment